Surat Thani

Day 103Lazy day in Surat Thani (14/11/2015)

We initially only wanted to stay for one night but because we had such a nice room and we were too tired to figure out how to get to the next place, we decided to stay for one more night. Today we just wanted to relax and organize our backpacks. The weather was really nice, so we felt kind of bad to stay in the room but sometimes you just need to be lazy. The best decision of the day was to put our blankets in the laundry. We bought them pretty much three months ago, we sleep with them every single night and today was the first time we washed them. How did I become that gross?! 🙂

For lunch we had to leave the room, so we went to a shopping mall, close to our hotel. When we got to the food court we were surprised that nothing was in English. Everything was so cheap, which was very tempting but we decided against it. I like to know what I eat. Once more, that’s how we ended up at Kentucky Fried Chicken. After that we got some stuff at the supermarket and suddenly my belly started to go crazy and we had to go back. I can’t remember if I’ve ever mentioned the stomach problems. It became so normal that I don’t even think about it when I’m writing. It’s not terrible, for being in Asia, it could be much worse but it’s getting more and more annoying. It comes and goes.

Back at the hotel I was writing diary. I just can’t manage to catch up. Especially when we meet people, there is just no time for writing. Sometimes I kind of just wanna stop but I always hear how many people are reading it and that makes me happy. At that point…thanks to everyone, who is kind of traveling with us by reading my blog!

For dinner we went to a night market. That was fun. I regret so much that I didn’t bring my camera. There were no tourists, it was a real, authentic Asian market. It was an exciting experience. I’ve never seen such an exciting market and at the same time I never wanted to eat less than tonight. Again, there was nothing in English and a lot of things looked disgusting. I don’t wanna be rude or offending with describing it as disgusting but for what we are used to…I don’t know how else to say it. Maybe you could say “not very pleasing for the eyes”. But as I said, it was so interesting and exciting. We had some chicken, some roti and some sushi. Caleb was still hungry and ordered Pad Thai, his favorite meal. The food stand looked completely unhygienic. There was a really old lady with a hunchback behind a huge pan and she started to throw ingredients in from both sides. It was amazing. Before we went back I wanted to get some strawberries. They looked so good. We ordered a plastic cup full of delicious looking strawberries and I couldn’t wait to eat them. When they told us that it was THB 50 we were speechless. The Pad Thai that Caleb just got was THB 25! As I said, we were the only tourists so they probably thought “Jackpot” when we stopped at their stand, which is understandable.

Back at the room it was time to talk to my family. First I talked to my sister for about an hour and then to dad for another hour. I’m always so excited when I can talk to them.

 


Leave a comment